i have a new job

It's been a busy couple of weeks, so I haven't had a chance to blog about it.

I have a new job!

I'm now a writer at an amazing agency called AKQA. Working on an amazing brand. It's a contract, not long long-term, at this point. I'd love to extend it, but we'll see what happens.

Some of you might be surprised that I've chosen to go from the third sector to this role.

But I'm still going to be taking part in Good For Nothing, supporting other charities I like, and who knows, maybe I'll go back to a non-profit some time in future. A lot of otherwise smart people underestimate the work ethic, and the smarts, of people who work for charities. Likewise, you can't underestimate the challenges: you're basically selling karma for a living.

And I'm incredibly excited to be working for an independent agency at the top of its game, with amazing scope and heritage, on a brand that is not only so broad and globally great, but that also has a ton of digital smarts (I don't just mean with its Nike+ products or mobile bits; I also mean with things like hiring Ward Cunningham, inventor of the wiki, to do interesting, disruptive, progressive things with their data on the Considered side of Nike's business).

The writing task is one I know that I'm up to. But I'm equal parts inspired and terrified that I have this opportunity to learn a new working culture, different processes, different business, scale, reach and much more. Juggling all of that and moving forward is going to be an exciting challenge.

Time for some hard work.

12 thoughts on “i have a new job

  1. May I wish you all the best old chap. Sorry it’s a tad late but here in Henley most of August is Martini month.
    Toodlepip.

  2. hello mate
    I only just spotted your change of gig on linkedin, as I’ve been off the blogging for a while.
    Congratulations and hope you have a lot of fun at the new place – like you say, a gig that’s exciting and scary in equal measure.
    Bon chance!

  3. Pingback: achievement unlocked! | james hogwood's blog

Leave a Reply

