an evolving set of rules

I haven't blogged much over the past few weeks, just because I've been busy and I haven't seen that much that has surprised or impressed me.

Picture 50

Cadbury Pocketgame is one of the exceptions. As official treat provider to the London 2012 Olympics, Cadbury have asked people to design the next portable, non-digital game. Flick Racer or Thumboxer are probably my favourites.

What I really like about it is the improv, nearly quality of most of the 10 ideas that have got through to the voting stage. That's what social gaming feels like it should be to me. A few retrieved objects and an evolving set of rules. That feels like an important bit of the social aspect to me; some sort of discover-and-debate approach to scoring and what constitutes fair play. It's the agreement to abide by some randomly assembled code that feels exciting.

That's why so many of these ideas feel like they were actually invented by someone at school years ago. Actually, some of them really were invented ages ago. But that's OK.

The shortlist is up there now, and you can vote on your preferred game until 9 August.

Leave a Reply

