tinkering in the internet shed

lampshade

I keep meaning to blog. But I've been too busy to say stuff that I really want to say. So these are a few of the threads winding around inside my head, mainly about making stuff.

I've been meaning to write up some things I've learned whilst doing the middle names project. It's the first time I've genuinely tried to do something like it, and considering I had zero expectations, it's been a fantastic success so far. Traffic has consistently ambled along at a decent enough rate to make me think I should keep it as an ongoing concern. One massive day it hit something like 735 views. I have no idea what happened that day, but it was a very good day.

And just this week, when it felt like stories might be drying up, I got two along at once. One from the very talented and lovely Sarah. And another from the equally talented and lovely Leila. Yes, from Shift Run Stop. I'm beaming from ear to ear, because they are both great stories. 

I think it's time for phase two of the project, whatever that might be. I'm thinking about it. In the meantime if you have a middle name story you'd like to share, do pop by the Tumblr and let me know.

Also, I've been working on another new Thing. It's a bit scary and involves a bit of audio, and maybe a touch of print on demand too. It's about stories, that's all I can say for now. I'm not sure why, I just felt like those media were the natural home for it rather than a blog. Although maybe there'll be a blog too, I haven't decided. One thing that has definitely helped today is reading this on Hugh's blog about media inventors:

Fun­da­men­tally, I think, a
media inven­tor is some­one who isn’t sat­is­fied with the suite of for­mats
that have been handed down to him…
It turns out a media inven­tor
feels com­pelled to make the con­tent and the container.
Some­thing like that, anyway.


Which isn't to say I'd ever flatter myself with a label like media inventor. I just find it a bit more accessible than, you know, the Henry Jenkins sort of discourse around transmedia storytelling. There definitely needs to be another category. One that feels like it's about tinkering in the shed at the bottom of the garden…but mostly on the internet. Because lots of the most interesting things take place at that level.

So that's sort of it, really.

Oh, on a self-congratulatory note, a couple of things I've worked on in the last year are shortlisted for the NMA Effectiveness Awards so I'll be heading in that direction on Thursday. Do say hello if you're going to be there.

Leave a Reply

